Which bolts reset on the forward stroke?

wbw

I'm pretty new to bolts action rifles. I recently purchased a Mossberg MVP Patrol in 5.56. I really want to like this gun but the bolt action is proving to be challenging for me. After the rifle is fired, when lifting the bolt, that is apparently when the trigger gets reset. This is not a smooth movement for me. Not only do I have to take my face away from the gun, I find that it's best if I then stand to work the bolt. Then get myself reset with the rifle. If I had realized how this worked I probably would not have gotten the gun. (There were none available locally and it was ordered for me, so I didn't get to play with one before purchase).

So are there rifles chambered in 5.56 that reset the trigger when pushing the bolt forward? Seems like something like that would be better suited for me. I also just purchased an AR-15 but I still would like to have a bolt action that would allow me to maintain my shooting position if possible.

Is there such a creature? Any thoughts will be appreciated.

Sharkbite

Most (95%ish) cock the rifle on lifting the bolt handle. I think the Enfield cocked on closing.

Im sure the issue you are having is technique based. I run all my bolt action rifles from the shoulder, reguardless of position.

On a short action like the MVP in 223 You should not even have to break your face off the stock.

wbw

Maybe I need to take a few lessons with someone that knows what they're doing. I really like the rifle. It's got a FO front sight and it takes AR-15 mags. It's a neat little rifle. I'm just put off by the operation. And as you suggest, the problem may be me.

chris in va

Probably needs 'breaking in'. I know my CZ carbine with Mauser action took quite a bit of cycling and oil before it slicked up, about 1000 rounds.

It's fine to lift your face off the stock when cycling. You shouldn't have to pick it up off the table though.

jmr40