Tell me about the new Colts

I haven't shot the commander, but the Govt model XSE is a very nice gun by most standards. I would still go for a DW around that price range, but you can't go wrong with an XSE. The quality is excellent, slide to frame to barrel fit is good, accuracy is acceptable at around 1 1/4" at 25yards, and they frame cuts really make for a better fit.

Pilot

I don't have a Commander model either but have two, new Colt 01918 WWI Repros. They are flawless.

cecILL

I have that pistol. Have had not one problem, though not a lot of rounds have been through it. Feels silky smooth compared to some other 1911A1 pistols I have handled.

shanzlik

I have a Combat Elite (part of the XSE line) and it's a good choice. I ran it through a 1911 course recently and had no problems with it.

I did have a loose plunger tube about 1,000 rounds into ownership. It was restaked and glued with red loctite prior to shooting in the class, no problems since the fix.

Colt uses not only forged frames and slides, but also a forged slide stop and barrel. Many in the price range use cast frames and cast or MIM slide stops.

Lifetime warranty, good quality small parts, should be good to go out of the box. Colt tends to cut their feed ramps deep enough (top to bottom) for reliable hollow point feeding. Some have experienced sharp edges, mine did not have those and was well fit from the factory.

Scorch

OK, thanks for the input so far. I know Colts are "a step above" other 1911s, I own a 1970s Combat Commander that has always performed flawlessly, but was not too sure about the XSE. Are the triggers like the Series 70 or are they the "new and improved" Series 80 triggers (firing pin block contraption)?

DPris

Member Emeritus
Got my XSE stainless Commander a couple years back. The usual razor edges, but it shot fine.
Denis

Dobe