Pocket Carry

Contrast Man

Hello all,

Living in the wonderful state of Illinois for most of my life (except for a stint in WI prior to their carry laws) I have not been allowed to carry at all. Now that the new laws have finally gone into effect, well, in a few days, my focus has been to how and what to carry when I am so able to. Yes, I am aware of how long ago the court rulings happened and the law was actually passed, but I am currently a student and much of my effort has been put into that aspect.

That said, I understand I will not be able to carry on school grounds which explains the lack of haste I have. I figure by the time I'm approved and receive a license, it will be spring/summertime, limiting my carry options.

Because of this, and perhaps an irrational fear about printing, I'm thinking that pocket carry may be the best option for me at the current time.

I'm looking for what you all use for pocket carry and where that threshold lies in size for effective pocket carry. I would like to have a 9mm, but I wouldn't be against .38 Special or .380 ACP. I understand the limitations of pocket carry, but I would much rather have anything with me than nothing at all.

Some additional info; I would carry while at work and out running errands/whatnot. Work involves sitting at a desk for 95% of my shift, and running errands would involve driving (re: more sitting).

Thanks in advance!

jerryd

If i go out for a quick trip a charter arms off duty goes in my pocket small and a quick 5 shots.

SaxonPig

I don't enjoy carrying so I want small and light. I pack this Taurus 380 in a thin, fairly rigid pocket holster that obscures the outline of the pistol and enables a better draw. The holster is designed to grip the pocket and allow the gun slide out.

standard.jpg

KenL