Pocket Carry Suggestions?

jackstrawIII

Hey guys, I have never carried a pistol in my pocket, but I'd like to give it a try. I find that there are situations in which I simply cannot conceal a pistol on my belt, and want a backup option for those special occasions.

Here are my questions:
1. Does any of you actually pocket carry on a consistent basis?
2. If so, what sort of gun do you carry? J-frame, micro 1911, something else? (I'll be sticking with something in either 9mm or 38 Spl, and I'd prefer it to be DA or have a 1911 style safety)
3. Finally, what sort of holster do you use/recommend?

I have zero experience with this carry method, and would like to cut down on wasteful spending in the experimentation phase haha.

Thanks.

BarryLee

I occasionally pocket carry a S&W Model 442 J-Frame in a Uncle Mike's pocket holster. I also usually drop a speed loader in my other pocket just in case. Obviously a pretty basic set-up, but it works.

rwagliardo

Pocket carry is the only way I go now. Either 380 Seecamp or Bonds Arm Bullpup in sticky holsters. Thinking about adding a S&W airlite to the rotation.

JERRYS.

most of this will depend upon your body shape and clothing choice. J frames and various small autos are carried by many. all are concealed, some are unnoticeable, some are quite noticeable.

jackstrawIII

most of this will depend upon your body shape and clothing choice
In reference to my body type and clothing choices:

I'm 6'4", 200 pounds, and wear clothes that are on the tighter side. We're not talking skinny jeans and yoga pants, but I work in a professional environment where ill-fitting (aka baggy) clothes aren't cool.

All that to say, concealment is a priority.

Thanks!

reteach

1. I pocket carry almost exclusively.
2. I usually carry a Glock 42. Sometimes a Ruger LCRX in .327.
3. For the Glock I use a Sticky brand pocket holster. With the Ruger I use a Mika holster.