Hobbyist Gunsmith

BarryLee

If a person who enjoys repairing and modifying guns as a hobby does work for family and friends is a FFL required? Does it matter if the person receives payment for their work? Keep in mind this is not a business just someone working in their home shop.

Colokeb

You will find that you can not charge, and can not keep guns overnight.

Jeesh, some years back the govt busted wannabe smiths for helping mount a scope.

dogtown tom

ATF requires an FFL for anyone engaging in the business of gunsmithing.
While "engaging in the business" usually means you perform that service for $$$....ATF will not ask to see your checking account before they indict you.

They will look at the volume of work you are performing on other peoples firearms....not how much $$$ you are earning.

Overhill

I have been doing this for many years now. I would hand over the invoice i paid for the parts and leave it up to the guns owner to decide how much he cared to donate to my shooting expences. Never considered it to be a problem until this post.:(

BarryLee

I have been doing this for many years now. I would hand over the invoice i paid for the parts and leave it up to the guns owner to decide how much he cared to donate to my shooting expences. Never considered it to be a problem until this post.

Sorry... :eek:

Salmoneye

So far, the only thing provided has been BATF info about 'Firearms Manufacturing'...

I can't see how taking 'possession' of, and 'cleaning' my Sister's S&W left to her by our Father, can possibly be construed as a regulated act...

Don H

Frank Ettin

Administrator
The thing to consider is that it's an enormous "gray area." If the ATF wants to come after you, they very well might just look at your volume. If you're not making a profit, that just means you're lousy at your business.