Hiking Handguns?

Which Type Of Hiking Handgun?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

roy reali

I live in the high desert. There are miles and miles of areas to explore. I go every chance I get. There are two things I take when I go. One is my dog and the other is a handgun. I have semi-autos and revovlers. I almost always take a wheelgun when I go. I guess I am more comfortable with them. Also, while I am not an expert shooter with any type of handgun, I do better with six-shooters.

For all you hikers and exploreres, which type of handgun do you take most often?

N.H. Yankee

I generally hike in remote woods and the biggest threat is 4 legged. I sometimes carry a small semi in a backpack as well as a 41 magnum on my hip.

SilentHitz

Don't hike anymore, but I used to carry a wheelgun more often. Carried my combat commander once in a while...but most often used a .357 wheelie, good for most all threats you find in my area.

Ricky

Ruger SP101 .357

Compact with enough weight to make magnum loads tolerable to shoot. Mine has a 2-1/4" barrel. A 3 inch might be better. Stainless steel is great.

Ronbert

Taurus 817 - 7 shot titanium .357 mag.
Unloaded, the gun feels like plastic.
All the weight is in the ammo.

I have also been known to lug a 1911 or a Glock 22.
But the Taurus replaced them.

MLeake

In my area...

... the 4 legged critters aren't quite as big, but it's still possible to run into a 400lb black bear, or a decent sized boar.

Within the last week, we appeared to have a bear enter the barn based on some sign, and the lady reported coyote howls on multiple sides of the pasture as she was feeding horses at night. (We live next to a 7000 acre WMA).

So, for hiking, based on black bear and boar, I usually carry a magnum revolver - .357 GP100 or .44 S&W Mountain Gun.