Hand Loading For Disaster

700cdl

Hello all,
I'm rather new to this web site but have read post after post about typical issues with hand loading that frankly scares me. I've been hand loading for metallic and shotshell for over two decades and have as well worked in the retail industry. Having been around the busines and those engaging in the process has allowed me to personally observe the common mistakes that have, as well, commonly resulted in personal injury and destroyed guns. In every single circumstance the cause was due to someone not taking this hobby serious, failing to educate their selves or simply not believing its necessary to perform critical steps as required even when provided with good sound advice. Most common reason though for injury and destroyed guns has been due to the person concentrating their efforts on economics by choosing the fastest buring powder available , so as to use the least amount possible. Certainly this isn't a bad choice if the data is there, right? think about what happens when a hand loader can't see the difference when an acidental double charge is dropped? I can't possibly count the number of times I've seen this happen, its astronomical. I'm not saying if you hand load you the slowest burning powder you can, that is not fair to those who don't like super high velocity loads and recoil. But on the other hand, there are powders that fall into the middle of the road and will make it very difficult to double charge a case without noticing it easily, if not impossible to not notice.
I'm sure there is someone out there that can relate to my findings and will help me to elaborate on this topic, not just powder choice, but the frequent & common causes of dangerous mis-haps experienced by a lack of respect for the process. I just think that some hand loaders need a wake up call to prevent them from getting hurt and further causing problems for the future of this hobby.
"When seconds count, the police are only a few minutes away"