First Handgun?

Brian Pfleuger

Moderator Emeritus
I'm thinking.....

Desert Eagle... macho, huge, easy to conceal....

no seriously, I'm thinking S&W .40 or .45

any suggestions?

Brian Pfleuger

Moderator Emeritus
BTW... I have many years of rifle/shotgun experience so there's no "new to guns" type problem... and even so I intend to take the pistol safety course.

Homerboy

Do you like hammer fired or striker fired? For striker, I'd go with either a XD or a S&W M&P. They both make full size and compact versions. For hammer fired, a third generation S&W auto fits my bill.

Smaug

Well for a first handgun, your best bet is a .22. (I like the Ruger Mk. IIIs)

Learn how to shoot with a gun that is accurate and that eats cheap ammo. Centerfire pistol ammo costs 8-10X as much as .22.

Then, when you've got the basics down, get a centerfire handgun and learn how to beat the flinch.

I know, it is not macho, and would be one of the last choices for personal defense, but if you want to get started right, that's how it is done.

It can be done with a centerfire handgun, but it is going to be costly. The $500 gun is going to look cheap compared to the amount you'll pay for ammo in the first year of ownership. ;)

Brian Pfleuger

Moderator Emeritus
I *guess* I would prefer striker but I haven't really researched that aspect.

I'm not terribly concerned with cost of ammo as I don't intend to shoot thousands of rounds. (Even 1000 rounds is only $150-200 maybe)

Looking to keep it in the Home/Personal defense category. (no .22)

HKCHEF

Before Glock gets pushed on you anymore despite your preference toward S&W, I will recommend the M&P in .45 or if you like steel S&W 1911.

You can ask what brand car you should buy on this forum and somebody says Glock.:D

Topkicker

My first handgun was a Ruger Mk II. I still have it and still love to shoot it. A new Mk III would be a gorgeous and reliable first handgun well with in your budget.

Topkicker