Calling Upon LR shooters, Bart B KraigWY ect.

HKFan9

Hopefully Bart and Kraig see this, as well as others experienced in LR shooting.

I am looking to get back into it after sometime away from it. I am no expert. You give me a handgun and a AR in 3gun style competitions I will go hog wild, but I am looking to get back into long range shooting. I am an experienced rifleman, won a couple matches in my days even back to when I was a kid, but nothing truely long range.

I am looking to get fully set up this winter for Spring and Summer shooting, as I will have access to two private ranges for 1000 and out to 1300 yard shooting. (I might not shoot THAT FAR yet, but we get the picture.)

My rifle is under operation right now getting some work done to it so I am looking to piece together other essentials.

My rig is as follows.

Kimber 8400 Advanced Tactical .308.
20 MOA rail
Vortex Branded Badger Ord. percision matched rings.
Vortex Razor HD 5-20x50 scope with MRAD reticle and 5MRAD per rotation turrets. (First time using MRAD)
Atlas Bipod (will probably use bags / rest however)

Ammo (for now) I will be shooting Federal Premier 175 SMK's as the gun is garunteed with both those and the 168's but I figure the 175 has the better BC.

Now before you think I am nuts for being a novice and dropping this much coin, I work in the industry, and I can't give out details on prices.. but lets just say it wasn't retail pricing.

Originally I had one of our gunsmiths check over the rifle, mount, torque and level everything properly and I test fired the rifle with 2 boxes of ammo and will hold sub MOA at 100 and 200 yards when I do my part.

Right now the stock is off being inletted for bottom metal that takes AICS mags (the one thing Kimber forgot to do).

My main questions are... as follows.