Best cal and gun for grizzly protection

Dano4734

I gave my kid my old model 29 44 mag but is there a wheel gun better for alaska brown protection. First line is bear spray but is the 44 enough or is there better

TXAZ

Bigger, accurate and more rounds.
It appears the Alaskian guides like 44, 454 and 500 8"+ barreled revolvers.

Wyosmith

Bear guns are guns that have penetration enough to break big bones and penetrate deep. The "best' bear gun is one that does these things that you can shoot well and fast.
I was the CEO of Cast Performance Bullet Co for some time and I have a LOT of experience with what works, what doesn't and so on, but I can tell you faithfully that a good 357 Magnum with hard cast LBT Bullet or heavy Keith SWCs is FAR better than a 500 S&W, if you can shoot the 357 better and faster then the 500.

We have a tendency to look at guns when we should be looking at shooters.

If you develop the skills to use the heavier more powerful guns then they are better.

More is better, when loosing the fight means getting permanently hurt or killed, but what's going to save you is accurate hits, and because of that I recommend using the most powerful gun you can shoot well
Let me repeat "that you can shoot well."

Deaf Smith

Many Alaskans who live with bears right in their back yards do use such guns as Ruger Blackhawk .44s, Redhawks, S&W 629s, etc... The very well known guide, Phil Shoemaker, uses a 629 Mountain Revolver (but the last bear he killed he used a 9mm!)

http://grizzlyskinsofalaska.com/

Now these people actually use them and have killed Grizzly and Brown Bears with them. Sure they prefer a rifle or shotgun, but they pack handguns very often.

https://www.usnews.com/news/best-st...ed-this-year-in-alaska-in-defensive-shootings
http://www.foxnews.com/us/2017/06/26/two-brown-bear-attacks-reported-in-alaska-on-same-day.html
http://www.ktuu.com/content/news/Al...und-brown-bear-on-his-property-426364311.html

Deaf

badge851

Wyosmith said: