100 Yards: What's your most accurate rifle, the ammo and group size?

TXAZ

Just curious about what size 3 shot groups you guys can consistently shoot at 100 yards, What rifle you're using and what ammo.

Dufus

I don't shoot 3 shot groups as they are meaningless to me.

But, the best 10 shot groups I have shot are 5/16 C to C with a 30-06 in 1903 Springfield.

Second best 10 shot group is with a 222 Rem in a M788 that I have done some work on. It will hold 3/8" C to C.

I have been shooting for a little over 60 years, so these cover a lot of ground.

I forgot to add that I have a Model 70 from the early 70s that will shoot a 10 shot 9/16" C to C group at 200 yards.

Last edited:

g.willikers

I don't shoot groups of any size.
Way too boring, frustrating and rarely indicative of real world shooting, other than maybe bench rest contests.
Even then, at any distance, other factors are probably more important to success.
But my most accurate 100 yard rifle is a .22 rimfire, by far.
Probably doesn't say much for the rest of my rifles, does it? :eek:

T. O'Heir

Smaller than a dime size group(3 shot clover leaf) with my 1903A4 using Hornady 168 grain Match bullets and IMR4064. Off a bench on a good day.

mikejonestkd

I have 3 rifles that will shoot .5" 5 shot groups at 100 yards if I do my part.

Two are remington 700 VSSFs -one in 223 and the other in 22-250
The third rifle is a weatherby SVM in .223.

I have a few others that can shoot .5" 3 shot groups if the planets are in alignment. realistically they are more like .75" performers

Guv

I have an old Mossberg 810 30-06 with a 30mm Tasco Euro Class 1.5X6 scope that will do under .5" @ 100yds for 3 shots (165gr Speer BTSP & IMR 4350). This bench accuracy sure helps me with confidence when actually hunting, if I miss, it's me.

Steve in PA

Savage 12FV in .223.

It will shoot 1/4" groups at 100 yards all day using handloaded 55gr Hornady Vmax and H335.