Yet another school shooting

gbclarkson

I see TFL threads pop up from time-to-time debating the policy of having defensive firearms in public schools. My response: NO!

This issue hits close to home for me now. Last week there was a shooting in the cafeteria of the high school in my home town, in the district in which I teach, the school from which I graduated and the same school my son will be attending in two years. This particular incident was mitigated to one injured student because an alert PE teacher tackled the shooter. Would the damage have been even less if she chose to return fire instead? Again: NO!

School shootings is an issue that cannot be solved by debate within pro-firearms community. The mental illness that brews through adolescence, and leads to the choice of violence to solve an emotional problem, is typically identified at the elementary level. But, we do not have the resources to adequately intervene for these children or to help their caregivers. School violence is a public health crisis and must to be addressed within that sphere.

Contact your elected federal representative and tell them, ask, or demand that he or she support the Mental Health in Schools Act. This act proposes to provide public schools with the funding to staff mental health professionals. It has been stalled in sub-committee since March, 2015.

K_Mac

What if the PE teacher had been incapacitated by the shooter, who then went on to kill or seriously injure other students? What if there were trained and skilled teachers who had multiple options of dealing with an active shooter, including lethal force if required? What if lethal force was the only way of stopping the violence? Would the students or teachers be safer without that option?