What's the best bore solvent/cleaner?

Alfadog

I've been using Hoppe's No. 9 ever since I started shooting as a kid (it's what my dad used and the smell brings back memories). I was wondering if any of the newer cleaners/solvents are any better. Or should I go to something like Breakfree CLP and have a product that lubricates and prevents rust as well as cleans?

Thanks in advance for any information you can provide.

Alfadog

Sorry for double post. Had to get signature straightened out.

------------------
Alfadog
NRA Life Member

"DO NOT TAKE COUNSEL OF YOUR FEARS."
--G. S. Patton, Jr., Lt. Gen., USA, 6 March 1944

[This message has been edited by Alfadog (edited July 08, 2000).]

JH

Hi Alfadog:
The smell of Hoppe's #9 brings back fond memories of cleaning guns with my dad after shooting when I was a kid. Do a search in the gear & accesories forum and you'll come up with lots of opinions. Most comments suggest that the newer products work better. I use MPRO7 for cleaning and Ballistol or Boeshield T-9 for lubrication and protection. Good luck.

Jeff

MrBlonde

When cleaning guns, I use Hoppes #9. I have heard there is better, maybe I should try using some other kind...

Halo

I use Hoppe's Semi-Auto for routine cleaning. I occasionally use Hoppe's Benchrest for more thorough cleaning of copper fouling.

Clark

It is interesting so many posts talk about smell. When I saw the topic, I wanted to say something about smell too.

I like Break Free Bore Solvent. I bought a big container and fill the small ones.

I like the smell.

Brasso

Birchwood Casey Bore Scrubber. It has a slight oil base and is great for preventing rust as well. I use it to clean the entire gun. It cleans, lubes, and keeps the rust away. I usually follow up with a bit of transmission fluid on the parts that really need lube.

railroader