What's a good scope for a Baretta T-3 30.06?

stinger 427

It has a stainless steel barrel. I don't want to spend more than what the gun costs which is $600. Probablyl $100 dollars tops.
Which power magnification should the scope be?
Plus is the difference between the silver scoopes and black scopes, is it cosmetic in nature or is one more durable than the other like stainless steel barrel vs. blue finish barrel. Some people say it should go great with a silver scope because it is a silver stainless steel barrel. Then again the composite stock is black in color so a black scope should work too.:confused:
Pardon the strange questions but I'm a newbie on single bolt action rifles.:confused:

Art Eatman

Staff in Memoriam
If your main use is for hunting, a Weaver K4 or equivalent is plenty of scope. Well, to around 350 or 400 yards, anyhow. if you want a vairable with more magnification, a Leupold 3x9x40 or equivalent will work just fine. I'd figure on a VX1 or VX2, however, not their bottom-end version.

taylorce1

stinger, to get a quality scope you will need to up your budget a little. You have a good rifle why put a weak link into it. The lowest priced scope I use is a Bushnell Trophy 3-9X40, it isn't even close to the best scope out there however it is durable, and tracks reasonably well. Plus the glass is just ok at best for low light hunting, what I mean by that is they are good enough for hunting open country but they don't work well for heavily wooded areas.

If you can swing the money the lowest priced scopes I would recommend are the Nikon Prostaff, Bushnell Elite 3200, Leupold VXI, and Sightron SI. I would look in the 3-9X40 range for a .30-06 as that will work well for both target shooting and hunting. I like as well variable scopes in the 2-7 and 2.5-8 power range, these are actually my favorites.

stinger 427