What happened to the good ole days?

SpookBoy

First off i'm not that old,but i am a student of the gun & with that being said,I've noticed a trend over the years.Its kinda funny that as soon as anything new or more hi-tech comes out, people seem to forget about the standard that used to be! Just think of how many people were shot with a .38 beetween 1910 or so until the mid fiftys when the 357mag came about,i.e. a better cartrige. It seems that now we have "Mall ninjas" with 17 or 33 round mags for their pistols that cant hit anything!When 60 years ago the police or military could do it with 6 or 7 shots.

It is kind of sickening that shot placement is not as "important" as it used to be in some peoples shooting training.I envy revolver shooters for that reason,useing what they've "got" to get the job done.Now I do understand the concept of more firepower,but what if SHTF and your batteries run out or your out of(low on) ammo?Bet you wished you had practiced more, huh?

If you died from a .22 or a 500S&W mag. wich one killed you more?.....Give up?.. neither your still shot & not around to tell about it!What happened to the days when being a marksman meant just that?Useing What you have to get the job done.Not knocking someone for useing a .380 or whatever the cal. choice?

Socrates

It seems that now we have "Mall ninjas" with 17 or 33 round mags for their pistols that cant hit anything!When 60 years ago the police or military could do it with 6 or 7 shots.

The "Mall ninjas" are now New York Police officers, who can't get it done with 33 round mags. Usually takes at least two of those to shoot an unarmed man, at least in New York.

As for military 'getting it done' with 6 or 7, that has to be the biggest misstatment EVER. Unless of course you are talking about my Dad and his 5" gun, or, something like this:
mo_shell.jpg

bb-62-DNST8704564_JPG.jpg

bb-61-dnsn8709176_jpg.gif

kristop64089