What 1911, .45 ACP magazines to buy?

hammie

What brand of extra magazines do you recommend for my recently purchased colt gold cup and remington R11?

This question was prompted by a current thread lamenting that kimber only provides one magazine, and the increasing availability of aftermarket 1911 magazines. What should I consider? Mec-Gar, Metalform, Ed Brown, Chip McCormick (CMC), Wilson, factory or other? I noticed that Wilson's and CMC's are popular, but which models are best? The Wilson ETM or combat, or CMC shooting star or power mag? Someone suggested WWII surplus, but where do you even find those anymore and would they need new springs?

I realize that there will probably be as many different opinions as responses, but that's OK. I value everyone's experience and perspective and will appreciate any help.

RickB

I've been shooting 1911s enthusiastically for only about twenty years. I was in your boat, circa 1992. I bought one example each of the popular 8-rounders (at that time, Wilson, McCormick, and Mag-Pack), and decided on McCormick. The first set of Shooting Star mags were good, but the springs needed replacing every couple of years. I replaced them with Power Mags, and those ran with no problems for years.
When a new player came on the high-performance 1911 mag market a few years ago, they were looking for help. They sought out LEO and competition shooters, and incorporated their suggestions into the mags. Stronger springs, basepad material reformulated to better withstand impacts, tighter tolerances, etc.
A group at my IDPA club would use sample mags, send feedback, and get mags modified to address our issues within a couple of months. More tests, more improvements. The final production version of the mag is at least as good as anything made by anybody, and much better than most.