Well, I AM Headed for Texas!

Jeff Thomas

After many interviews, including a trip to corporate HQ in Florida, it turns out I will be headed for a new career in Dallas, Texas! I'll reread the thread we discussed some time back when I was considering this move, and I've done a search on various moving advice (I would really hate to have to discuss my firearm and ammunition collection with a state trooper on the side of the road somewhere in New Mexico ;) ).

We'll probably end up buying a home in Plano, Frisco or some nearby community. I hoped to get a home with a basement (which could be partially converted into a gun safe), but basements appear to be relatively rare in Dallas. Any suggestions on where I can get the best CHL training in Dallas? Trying to find out the details, but I gather I can probably use my AZ CCW permit until I'm a Texas resident for 6 months.

Now, the important question ... I know you folks take pride in your chili, and I certainly enjoy that dish, but c'mon ... where do we find great Mexican food in north Dallas. ;)

Soon it will be "Regards from TX" I suppose. Life does take some unusual turns.

And, don't worry ... I know I'll never be a "Texan", but I assure you -- Texas was an acceptable state precisely because they seem to generally appreciate individual freedom and personal responsibility. California was never a serious potential destination. I hope my family and I can contribute positively to the voting "gene" pool. ;)

Regards from AZ (for now)

A

AmericanFreeBird

Jeff,

Try "The Bullet Trap" (972) 881-0372. They are right in Plano. That's where I shoot when I'm in TX either on business or visiting my shooting buddy in Dallas.

AFB

P.S. Congrats on moving to TX

thumbtack

Glad to hear you are moving to Dallas, we need more Gun Minded People here.

There are a lot of places to get your CHL in Dallas. I went to http://www.safeshot.com for my CHL, and Sgt. McGuire was really good. The only downside is that he is in Fort Worth.