USAF qualification course of fire?

USMCGrunt

The wife is due to go out to the range here sometime next week and requalify with both the M-16A2 and M-9 Beretta. Last time she missed getting her ribbon by just a few points and now she's out to get them come hell or high water. Now she wants to get to the range and work on it with my Beretta and AR-15 but she doesn't remember what all was involved the last time she tried to qualify. Anybody know off hand what the course of fire and what the time limits are for the USAF is?

Gewehr98

I qualify yearly in both M16 and M9.

When I get back into the squadron Monday, I'll find the link, or download the AFR to my webserver so you can read it. That's a lot easier than me trying to describe both courses of fire. ;)

mattd

M9 course...

I'm an officer (aircrew), so they won't let me do the M-16 course. I've only done the M9. Three distances involved: 7 meters or yards, the medium distance escapes me and then 25 is last. I think to qualify (not the ribbon) you need 36 rounds on paper. For expert, you need all 36 on the target (person). I'm not sure about your wife's experience, but in the two times I've done this, they have never disqualified anyone for going over the time allotted. They will blow the whistle, but if you have a round or two left, they will allow you to finish. So I'd say consider slowing down a bit to collect your thoughts while squeezing off the last round or so and make it count.

support_six

Dang, the Air Force gives you a "ribbon" for qualification! All I got was a little metal pin-on thingy that said "Expert -- Rifle, Pistol". I would have qualified with the M60, M203, and the LAW but the ranges at A.P. Hill wouldn't certify non-combat arms officers (Quartermaster) for anything but the M16 and M1911/M9.

Bruce

Gewehr98

You don't get the Air Force Marksmanship Ribbon for merely qualifying.