The Roberts

LAH

Deer season will be on us shortly so time to put the 223 in the safe & break out the AI Roberts. Loaded some ammo today to try since I've shot this rifle only to fire form brass. I have 2 bullets.

Powder & primers are these.

steveNChunter

Let us know what kind of groups and velocities you are getting with each.

I used to use the 100 gr NBT in a .25-06 and it was VERY explosive when shot into the shoulder bone of a deer. It did the job, but left a spotty blood trail, and made a huge mess of the shoulder and didn't exit. After that experience I put them just behind the shoulder into the ribcage. That gave a much better result. The slightly slower .257 AI might not be as bad but I still believe I'd shy away from hitting solid bone if I could help it.

I have no experience with the SST's but I've heard they are a fine bullet.

If you decide to try another bullet, give a 117 gr Sierra a try. Either the Gameking or Pro-hunter depending on which your rifle likes best.

LAH

Steve it will be a couple weeks before I can get to the range. I normally go once or twice a week but I'm booked for a revival next week so it will be after that. I'm hoping both shoot well & I'm sure either will be whitetail accurate.

HiBC

I have been using a 257 AI for a long time.It works great for me.4350 will give top performance with a 100 gr bullet.

My bullet of choice ended up being 115 gr Nosler BT's.I use H4831 SC with those.

I have no experience with the SSTs.

LAH

I had this barrel throated for the 100 grain Nosler. The SST needs seated a little deeper than I like. I called Nosler yesterday & found the length of their 115 BT is nearly the same as the 117 SST though I'm not sure about their profiles.

BIG P

Mine is in 25-06 & it loves both of those loads.But I'll tell you this,inside 150yds.jt will make a mess if it touches bone.Deer or yote.;)

std7mag

As far as terminal performance on deer, I have not tried the SST.