The best air-rifle available?

ClayInTx

I want an air rifle for plinking and target shooting, also powerful enough for small game. I’m unfamiliar with air-rifles except for a low-cost Benjamin bought years ago, which I no longer have.

I want a hand-operated pump-up, or, perhaps, a spring driven.

Price is not all that much a factor. Well, there is a limit, but it’s fairly high.

How about some input and recommendations by you who have one, or have had one?

hogdogs

Staff In Memoriam
I like the Spanish made Gamo line... 1,000fps will hunt tree rats and rabbits out to 40+ yards easy and I am quite adequate at those ranges...

Also, if you are unfamiliar with the springer rifles, they do take the getting used to! totally different than a powder fired rifle as for recoil and the affect on the projectile. I await further Q's to provide additional info...:)
Brent

hoytinak

The only air rifle I've ever owned was a cheap Crossman that my father gave me about 20yrs ago so I'm new to them myself but I've been interested in getting one lately. I was actually looking at a couple of Gamo air rifles myself yesterday. Are the Whisper Series rifles really that much quieter? I really like the looks of the Whisper Royal but would like to know more about them before spending $350 on a air rifle.

Evan Thomas

For plinking/target shooting, some of us think our Beeman R7's are hard to beat. It's a relatively low-powered springer at around 700 fps, and I wouldn't use it on small game beyond 30 yards or so, but the advantages of the low power are that it's very easy to cock, and the weird-springer-recoil thing is much less noticeable than with higher-powered models. It comes with an excellent adjustable trigger, and it's wickedly accurate. :D

ClayInTx

Thanks

hogdogs,
Yes, 1100 fps is definitely awesome for something that just needs a bit of muscle for power. From what I can find out it seems the springers are better than the pump-ups. Is this correct?

hoytinak,