Tell me about .35 Whelen cartridge

1tfl

I came accross a very nice Remington 700 BDL in .35 Whelen caliber at the local pawn shop. The rifle is in great condition and has a Nikon Monarch 2.5-10X42 scope on it. The price is very reasonable ($625 OTD) and I'm very tempted to buy it BUT the .35 Whelen caliber is holding me back.

I have no experience with this caliber and I'm not sure what the cartridge was designed for. What exactly is the .35 Whelen's nich in the cartridge world?

hornetguy

Most folks see it as the logical standard-action, non-belted cartridge between the 30-06 and the .375. It is not as powerful as the .338 win mag, but is substantially better than the '06. It is certainly powerful enough for elk out to 250yds or so.
It can be loaded down more easily than the bigger belted magnums, for deer and such.
Many folks like the .338-06 better, because of slightly better sectional densities on comparable bullet weights, but I imagine the differences are more theoretical than practical.

PTS1

I am assuming that since you have never heard of the 35 Wheelen, you are probably not a re-loader. If this is the case, then you may want to reconsider as ammo is hard to come by.

jimbob86

I am assuming that since you have never heard of the 35 Wheelen, you are probably not a re-loader. If this is the case, then you may want to reconsider as ammo is hard to come by.

Or better, yet, take up handloading.

Better Ammo.

More of it for the same money.

You learn a lot along the way (including learning to shoot better!).

Try it.

jimbob86

What exactly is the .35 Whelen's nich in the cartridge world?

It is the "fat/heavy bullet" version of the 30-06...... kinda like the .270 WIN is the "svelte/light bullet version and the .25-06 is the Ethiopian version. :D

Factory ammo was rated advertised as a 200 gr bullet @ 2675 f/sec and a 250 gr @2400 .....

There are reduced loads listed in my Speer manual for 158 gr jacketed pistol bullets @ 2100 f/sec for plinking......