Son needs 1911 advice

44 AMP

Staff
My son just called, he is thinking of getting his first handgun. He is considering a Springfield 1911A1 .45ACP, and was asking about if they are good guns, and the price $569.

He has experience whith my handguns, including my Colt 1911, so this is not a "first handgun" thing, just the first one he is going to buy and own himself.

I have no personal experience with Springfields, and don't know about the price, but he says it seems reasonable compared to the other pistols in the shop. He is in Arizona, I am not.

Advice? suggestions? anecdotes?

And please don't bother trying to talk us into another type of gun. He wants a 1911A1, he just wants to know which one is good for the price. His other choice is a Colt series 70 (he didn't tell me the price on that one). I am not real keen on the series 70, I prefer the older guns, but I like them better than the series 80s.

So how about some help? Thanks.

benny27

Springfield 1911

I have owned two, and they're excellent, I'm assuming by the price it is a mil-spec, if it's a stainless that's a hell of a deal, they do tend to get a little pricey $700-$1,000 for different models. There's nothing wrong with a standard Springfield mil-spec, although I do like the stainless, but hey that's just me. So all in all the grade is A+...good luck:D

Sturmgewehre

You can't go wrong with Springfield. I would say they are the best maker of 1911's from entry level all the way up to full blown custom. They simply rock.

sholling