Semi-autos - How is Benelli ?

speakerguy79

First off, I hate cleaning semiautos. Benelli is supposed to be more like traditional break-opens in cleaning because they have no gas system. Are they really that clean?

The other reasons I'm looking at them is I love nicely finished high quality guns and they are supposed to be extremely reliable.

BUT

Is the recoil reduction similar to other semi-autos that use a gas system?

If not, how do Benelli's in general recoil? How do they 'feel' if you had to put it in words?

Are they reliable with a wide variety of loads? I am most concerned about reduced recoil loads functioning reliably.

Are shorter or aftermarket barrels available for them?

Do they make anything in a high gloss finish? I love my Remington 700 with its high gloss stock. I think it's beautiful and as a woodworker myself I find high gloss finishes more durable in general.

Thank you for any help!

mikenbarb

I own a Benelli SBE and its the easiest to clean out of all the semi-autos I own. They are great guns but mine kicks more than my Browning Gold 3.5 but not by much with 3 1/2 magnum waterfowl loads but the 2 3/4 mags feel like 3" recoil for some reason. And yes, The barrel is like cleaning a single shot or a pump. I have had mine for a while now and ran thousands of shots thru it with no problems except not hitting everything I shoot at with it.lol:D

BigJimP

I have a 12ga Benelli super sport - carbon fibre stock - with the comfort tech system in it. They're retailing out here for about $ 1,700. Its a good gun for the money.