SA Revolvers

ncpatriot

I saw a post on another forum seeming to praise single action revolvers as the best choice for survival handguns. I see the advantages of a revolver in general; simple, reliable, versatile with ammunition. But the few SA's I have shot were tedious to load and reload, with having to roll the cylinder and load or unload 1 round at a time. A double action revolver seems a much better choice, with faster unloading and being able to use speedloaders.

Is there some advantage to SA's that I am missing? BTW I am no expert by any means, this is just my observation.

Last edited:

Bob Wright

Admittedly, there is no real advantage of the Single Action over the double action revolver. However, for a wildnerness gun, speed of loading/reloading is of very little consequence.

The Single Action revolver is somewhat more robust than a similar double action revolver, however even that is overblown in practical terms.

So far as I'm concerned, either would be a good choice. I choose the Single Action because I have shot them since childhood and they just seem to fit my hand much better.

And, they are just so pleasing to the eye.

Bob Wright

SaxonPig

"I saw a post on another forum seeming to praise single action revolvers as the best choice for survival handguns."

This is a joke, right?

The SA was the king of defensive sidearms...in 1873. Not today.

Some people on these forums crack me up.

James K

Member In Memoriam
When the only quality guns readily available in SA were Colts and the only DA's were the older S&W's and Colts, concerns about durability were valid. But the DA's are now modern S&W's and Rugers, and I see no real durability problems with any of them. Plus Ruger SA's are far more rugged than any Colt SAA or clone ever made. The idea that only an SA is rugged enough for tough times is 1900 thinking. But it is not 1900 any more and we need to stop 1900 thinking and repeating 1900 advice.

Jim

qwiksdraw