S&W model 10

GP100man

Ran across a nickeled model 10-5 ,pencil/pinned barrel .
The nickeled is patinaed a little & is all there , not narry a scratch .

I called it 90-95%, it does have pachmyers on it , no wood originals.

I offered 400, as I`ve only seen a few nickeled.

Too much , not enuff ????

TIA !

GP

bushrat1

Nice find. I think the price is probably about right. Depending on condition, barrel length, finish, and a few other considerations I have seen them go for around $370-$700. Be sure to check the bore, crown, make sure the cylinder is not loose, and lockup is tight.

SaxonPig

IMO $400 would be the upper end. If rejected certainly keep looking rather than offer more.

Please don't say "pencil barrel." Screams "I am a noob who doesn't know proper terminology!" Standard or tapered barrel is correct.

My wife bought me this for my birthday about 7-8 years ago. She paid $177.

standard.jpg

About 2 years ago I added a set of ivory stocks I bagged at a show.

standard.jpg

SaxonPig

It is not. It is a standard barrel or a taper barrel. Use the incorrect and grating term pencil barrel if you must, but you don't look good doing it.

ZVP

My Model 10 is a 4"HB Blued and has some holster wear,
It was lend/Leased to the Brits for the bobbies to use.
My revolver has so many British proof marks and checks stamped all over that it must be perfect! Actually it's tight, accurate and feels like new!
I bought a used Jordan basketweave holster for field carry. the shape intrigued me!
I have a nice Hunter hip holster for it too with a 20 round cartrige belt. Makes a nice field companion!
It took manyyears to land aa model 10 and the wait sure was worth it! What a shooter!
No +P ammo, just straight pressure .38 Specials. Handloads (mid-range) and Factory ammo only!CAS loads shoot at 800fps with 199fp energy/ Lead bullets 158gr. Remington full power factory ammo clocks 800fps with 200fp.
For self defense I shoot Horniday XTP self Defense ammo.