Ruger New Vaquero vs Uberti El Patron

Lurch37

Let's say a guy, (me), wants to get a old west style revolver in the same caliber as his new lever gun, (357), and he just so happens to see 2 different models in the local sporting goods store. One is a shiny stainless Ruger New Vaquero and the other is a blued/case colored Uberti El Patron. Both have similar length barrels at 5.5 inches.

I have read reviews on both and I believe they both are good guns but wanted to ask your opinions as I have very little experience with this type of revolver. Other than the cosmetic differences, is the Ruger worth $200 more than the Uberti? I doubt I'll be shooting Cowboy Action or anything of the sort, so the gun will limited to casual plinking and the like.

44 AMP

Staff
.357 Magnum isn't one of the "old west" era cartridges anyway, so the question is how to balance cost, the looks you want, and performance.

The Uberti is a copy of the Colt SAA (1873/ Model P/ Peacemaker) same size, weight, balance and operating system. A "clone" if you will. IF you are not already familiar with the Colt system, you will need to be to operate the gun safely. The biggest thing about it is that it is NOT safe to carry with the hammer down over a live round.

The Ruger New Vaquero is the same size, weight (approx) and balance as the Colt, BUT it uses a different internal mechanism, and IS safe to carry loaded with six.

Both are fixed sight guns, so that's a wash. Stainless has advantages over blued, its not going to rust easily, and it tends not to show finish wear much.