Recoil

XD Gunner

Okay, so I may be a weeny. I took the Tikka out today and ran a box through to break it in. My shoulder hurts and Im bruised, nicely...ya know, a good one to brag about.

HOWEVER, I found myself flinching from the recoil about half the box through, I have heard of people using the Limbsaver Pad with success, if anyone has a Tikka with the Limbsaver pad, which pad do I need to order, and how do I install it. Forgive me for my questioning, Im new to this and this is the first rifle I have bought new or modified.

Rifle is a Tikka T3 in .270WIN

Thanks everyone.

Aaron

What caliber is it? Is it a T3? Lightweight?

Nevermind, I must have not read that part. I shoot .25 06 and I do have a recoil pad, but that is just for a better fit. If you are having trouble flinching I suggest that you buy some snap caps and dry fire.

joshua

A 270Win in an 8 lb rifle will still recoil, but it should be manageable. I have a 270Win and usually if I fire it after shooting my heavy barreled 22-250 or 223 I tend to hold the 270win a little loose and it lets me know to hold it like a real rifle instead of a puff recoiling varminter. Before calling yourself a weeny :D assess the way you're holding the rifle. Also, you feel more recoil when shooting on a bench in a low position. Put more sandbags or raise that bench rest to get a more upright sitting position. If you lean into it with your arms glued to the bench that butt stock will put all that recoil on your shoulder that is glued to the bench. Just my opinion from shooting experience. josh

rem33

Protect yourself.
Maybe I am a weenie too I could care less what anyone thinks.