Penalty in Arkansas

motorhead0922

What is the penalty for carrying concealed in a prohibited place (i.e. posted) in Arkansas? I can't find it on Nexus.

No, I don't make a habit of it, but sometimes I don't notice a sign.

Spats McGee

Administrator
Caveat: I'm a lawyer, but I'm not your lawyer. What follows is commentary, not legal advice.

With that out of the way, the prohibited places are listed at Ark. Code Ann. 5-73-306:
No license to carry a concealed handgun issued pursuant to this subchapter authorizes any person to carry a concealed handgun into:
. . . .​
(19)(A)(i) Any place at the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of the place by placing at each entrance to the place a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than ten feet (10′) that “carrying a handgun is prohibited”.

(ii)(a) If the place does not have a roadway entrance, there shall be a written notice placed anywhere upon the premises of the place.

(b) In addition to the requirement of subdivision (19)(A)(ii)(a) of this section, there shall be at least one (1) written notice posted within every three (3) acres of a place with no roadway entrance.

(iii) A written notice as described in subdivision (19)(A)(i) of this section is not required for a private home.

(iv) Any licensee entering a private home shall notify the occupant that the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun.

(B) Subdivision (19)(A) of this section does not apply if the physical location is a public university, public college, or community college, as defined in § 5-73-322, and the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun as provided under § 5-73-322.

Ark. Code Ann. § 5-73-306 (West)