new to progressive. need help choosing press

hbhobby

I have been reloading for about 35 years and my shooting is starting to increase. So i want to move to a progressive press instead on the single stage i have now. I am looking at a dillon 650 and rcbs 200 and lee load master. I want something that will "do it all" except me putting the bullet on primed/powered case. It looks like the three i am looking at will do that but i would like some insight as to which is best buy and why. Thsnk you in advance for opinions

T. O'Heir

No Lee kit is anywhere near the same league as Dillon kit. Lee kit is entry level stuff. RCBS kit is good, but if I was buying a progressive, it'd be directly from Dillon.

condor bravo

Since you are so close by at Payson, you can easily stop by Dillon's at Scottsdale to examine their presses. I'll go along with Mr T on this one and suggest a Dillon. Compare arguments between the 550 and 650. The 650 has five die stations compared to four on the 550. Possibly an objection to the 650 is the auto advance feature which I argue can lead
to more frequent problems than what will occur with the manual advance 550 and easier to solve with the 550. Probably more will recommend the 650.

Last edited:

joed

I've owned a 550, 650 and 1050. All were good presses but I left the 550 and moved to the 650 because of having 5 stations instead of 4. The extra station allows you to use a powder check die.

I urge anyone buying a progressive to buy a press that allows you to use a powder check die. It's not if you get a bad charge but more when.

Have heard good about Hornady but all my experience has been with Dillon.

evtSmtx

I have only one progressive a dillon xl650.
love it so far - have loaded about 10k rounds.
case feeder is a must have

Last edited:

Catfish