• Remington VTR

Votes: 16 15.2%
  • Weatherby Vangaurd sub-moa

Votes: 17 16.2%
  • Other (post why below)

Votes: 27 25.7%

• Total voters

JKump

Looking for a new 308. I have narrowed it down to these rifles. Sako A7, Winchester Model 70 Ultimate shadow, Remington VTR, Weatherby Vangaurd sub-moa. I am going to put a Lepold FX-3 fixed 6x42 on it. It will be used for Deer hunting (100 to 300 yard shots down a power line or over foot plot/fields).
What is your two cents worth on each?

GeauxTide

I've been satisfied with my VTR. Extra sling swivel for tripod and Mark X trigger. Bull barrel stiffness with out the weight.

trex1310

I have a Kimber 84M Longmaster Classic in .308, 24" stainless, fluted
barrel. Match grade chamber. Sub-Moa at 100 yds.

Stock: Material: A-grade walnut
Finish: Hand-rubbed oil
Checkering: Panel, 20 lines-per-inch
Sling swivel studs
Recoil pad: 0.5 inches thick
Steel grip cap
Length of pull (inches): 13.63
Drop at heel (inches): 0.54
Drop at comb (inches): 0.43
Pillar bedding
Glass bedding

Barrel: Material: Stainless Steel
Finish: Satin stainless steel
Contour: Heavy sporter
Length: 24 inches
Twist rate (right hand): 9
Grooves: 6
Fluting
Match grade chamber

Action: Material: Steel
Finish: Matte blue
Front locking repeater
Mauser claw extractor
Magazine capacity: 6
3-position Model 70-type safety

Trigger: Adjustable
Factory setting: 3.5-4 pounds

MSRP: $1255.00

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Legal Information & Disclaimer About Kimber Contact

Last edited:

JKump

Trex, NICE rifle, you are just showing off. Would love it, But it is slightly more than any of my choices. :mad:

Jack O'Conner

My .308 is carbine length but has taken many animals well beyond 300 yards.

I vote for a TIKKA with walnut stock. Pay a smith to cut and recrown the barrel to 20 inches.

Good hunting scope: Simmons Pro Hunter 2X - 7X.

Jack

JFlongshotfin.jpg

660muley-1.jpg

Cowboy_mo