My first revolver?

m88tow

I am looking to get a revolver this spring. I am going to be using it for some recreational shooting but mainly for hunting whitetail deer. What caliber should I go with, .357 or .44 mag? By the way it will be a Smith and Wesson with which ever caliber that I go with.

The Body Bagger

if its good enough for the Navy Seals and years in the hands of law enforcement its good enough for me and you and everyone else.....686 S&W .357magnum oh and get the 686P for one extra round if you desire.

m88tow

Also just to clarify, I am not a newbie to Revolvers just never owned one of my own. I have shot my fathers .357 many, many times. So any pointers on which caliber is best for say 20% recreational shooting and 80% hunting would be great.

The Body Bagger: Very true and good recommendation on that model. Thanks :)

WillBrayjr

New Smiths really aren't worth that much. You'll end up paying $700.00-$800.00 for a 686. Take a look at Guns America. There's alot of great deals on used S&W revolvers that are much better quality then the new Smiths. Yes go with the 357mag, it's cheaper and with the right load very capable of taking down deer!

The Body Bagger

You'll end up paying $700.00-$800.00 for a 686

:eek: :eek: :eek: I just picked up my 4" 686P just 1 month ago for $525.00 at the local shop....Gander Mountain wanted $549.99 but I wasn't going to pay THAT much for it ! ;) You need to check around my friend.

Edit to add: what type of hunting are you planning on m88tow?

m88tow

Mainly just whitetail deer. I usually hunt with my 12 guage but next season I want to try a revolver, just a little bit more of a challange.

44mag@ucnsb.net

m88tow,