Looking Forward -- Gun Choices

Pep in CA

As someone who is looking forward to hunting in retirement (not quite yet), I've been researching gun choices on the Internet. I so far have 3 favorites that I think will cover everything I would need.

Note that I have never hunted before, but I do think I'm a pretty good researcher. Nevertheless, there is no substitute for actual experience. Hence this thread.

Here are my favorite choices so far:

1) Savage 11 Trophy Hunter XP Package in .308 Win. Comes equipped with a Nikon 3-9X40 scope out of the box. Seems like a sweet deal for $580 and reviews are very positive.

2) Mossberg's new 835 Ulti-Mag Turkey/Waterfowl Combo in 12 ga.. Comes with 2 interchangeable barrels --- 24" full choke for turkey and 28" "Accu-Mag Set" choke (whatever that means) for waterfowl.

3) Marlin 336C in 30-30. For wild hogs.

Note, I already have .22LR rifle for varmint control.

It seems to me that would cover the entire spectrum at very reasonable prices.

Opinions and advice appreciated. What are your thoughts?

Last edited:

22-rimfire

I think you have the bases covered and you would have the Marlin as a back up deer rifle or to loan to a family member.

With varmints and a suitable rifle, it really depends on the varmint. A .223 would be a reasonable choice. You have the home defense issue covered?

Pep in CA

You have the home defense issue covered?

I do, or at least I think so. I have a Remington 870 express tactical shotgun and a Glock 19 pistol -- my primary guns at the moment. For home defense, and they stay that way.

TimSr

I lived in Ca. and hunted hogs in the 80s, at Ft Hunter Liggett, and Los Padres NF, and honestly, I think out there, you'll find the scoped .308 more useful for hog hunting, but the lever gun is fun and makes a nice spare.