Large Caliber for Carry

Tanzer

I'm no newbie to firearms in general. I hold CC permits in four New England states, and I've fired most everything .45 cal and down. However, I own 42 acres of land deep in the western mountains of Maine, where the wildlife is BIG. I'm aware that anything I own would be inadequate or at least borderline so in stopping an animal attack, so I'm thinking of getting a big SOB to carry when on my land. I know I could carry a shotgun or large caliber rifle, but that sort of takes the enjoyment out of a walk in the woods, and guests can't help but feel uneasy while I tote a long gun ("Here, Sis, hold this while I jump the stream").
My question is this; Can anyone help narrow my search? I have no experience with the .50 cals. I basically want a hand-cannon that is reliable and hopefully weighs less than a bowling ball. I don't usually go for wheel guns, but I'm most interested in the prime objective - pull the trigger and BOOM! attacker goes to bear heaven or wherever.
Some would say a .44 magnum is enough, but a local guide doesn't think so, and I'm thinking big. Any suggestions from those who've used these big boys, would they have penetration/shock power significantly superior to the magnum, or would I be wasting money?
Thanks in advance, Steve

CarbineCaleb

No matter what you get - if you are expecting a 1-shot stop, I think there's no assurance of that, even if you're using a .500 S&W or a .45-70 BFR.

Personally, I don't think there's any advantage in anything above a .44 magnum. They have been used on everything in North America, even polar bear. Black bear are only half that size.

Bigger calibers will just make for a heavier load to carry around and a harder to handle, slower to shoot recoil.

geez768