It appears I need a small base sizing die.

Jay24bal

I built my third AR15 this winter, and took it to the range today for the first firing. As I always do with a new gun, I started with factory ammo to ensure that it functions as it should, and no problem, 100 rounds without a single hiccup. I was actually quite impressed with the gun as this was a "budget build," but it was flawless and held decent groups.

Then, I load up some of my handloads. Not a single one works. I made the rounds using the same die set-up I have always used for my AR fodder (about 3,400 rounds). At first, they seemed to be fine and seemed to chamber, but when I pulled the trigger, all I got was a click. There was no dent on the primer either. It was also more difficult than it should be to extract the round from the chamber. I then followed up with more factory ammo to ensure something did not get damaged in the interim, and it was back to flawless operation.

I have no experience with small base sizer dies, and this is the first time I have encountered this problem. Am I correct in assuming that the chamber is a tad tight and that a small base sizing die will help?

F. Guffey

It was also more difficult than it should be to extract the round from the chamber. I then followed up with more factory ammo to ensure something did not get damaged in the interim, and it was back to flawless operation.

After 3 builds and all that reloading seems comparing new factory ammo with sized ammo would be first on the list of trouble shooting. We know what rifle you are using, it would be nice to know what press.

Then there is 'mastery of the press' if my cases are not being chambered I want to know if the case is being sized, your cases could be whipping the press.

I would not assume the case is difficult to extract after pulling the trigger, the cases could be difficult to extract because of the bolt closing.