Is there any truth to Glock grip angle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

HistoryJunky

I was reading this article about popular CC pistols since Illinois had passed the law, and came across this, said by a local gun shop worker to the paper.

Polhamus says: Reliable, extremely popular and often a less expensive choice, the Glock is a larger concealed carry weapon. Most law enforcement officers carry Glocks. Some don’t like the grip angle, which forces the user to adjust the wrist to aim properly.

Read more: http://www.journalstandard.com/article/20140330/News/140329277#ixzz2xVlVzLdl

Anyways, is there any truth to this being the "proper" way to aim? I have no experience with Glocks, and I've only handled one, never shot. Not looking for Glock or anti-Glock war, just wondering about the potential theory behind it.

SHE3PDOG

It is a silly argument. A Glock user could just as easily say that one must adjust their wrist to aim properly with a Springfield XD or a 1911. Truth is there are a lot of different grip angles and hand swells, but Glock takes a little more flak than most because it is pretty close to the extreme end of the spectrum.

As I implied earlier though, it really just depends on what you have the most experience with.
The writer probably has a bit of a bias based on his previous experiences and training with other guns.

Elerius

I can say that every time I had left my G19 sit for a few weeks without touching it, it feels strange like I have to bend my wrist to aim down the sights. But the feeling definitely goes away and you get used to it pretty quick, just make sure you hold it periodically so it doesn't get strange again.

Baba Louie