If you had to choose- buy primers or powder?

veprdude

Would you buy powder or primers first? Which one would you wait for a better deal down the road?

I'm new to reloading .308 so I looking to buy supplies now before stuff gets crazier.

44 AMP

Staff
the way things are now, powder is often where and what you can find. Most loads, a pound of powder will load close to 150rnds or so, depending on specific charge weights.

So, one box of primers (100) one pound of powder (~150 rounds) and bullets (box of 100) plus tools is the minimum start numbers.

Everything keeps a long time at room temp. So which ever you happen to get first, just store it until you've got everything you need.

redhawk41

What’s on the shelf where you shop? How much are you looking to spend? Any reason why you can’t buy both simultaneously?

Nathan

Neither. These things are beginning to pile up. That drives prices down. I’m guessing primer companies still make good money with primers under $50 and powder under $35. Nosler too needs to back off to more realistic ABLR prices.

FrankenMauser

Primers.
Powder can be substituted, loads adjusted, etc., even if less than optimal.
I can even make black powder, if needed.

But I cannot reasonably make primers or come up with a substitute component.

Marco Califo

Once you have primers, I recommend that you obtain one versatile medium speed powder. A2460, H335, H BL-C(2), and 308 150 grain bullets. You will be good for years.

reddog81

You need primers, powder, bullets and cases to reload. Being short or out of any one component means the others are useless.

What do you have now? What's your budget? How much do you shoot? Without knowing your situation any advice is kind of useless.

Buy whatever you can now and adjust going forward once components get easier to find. Whenever that might happen. A few hundred primers and a few pounds of powder is more useful than 8 lbs of powder and no primers.

veprdude