How often do you clean your carry weapon

Shadow9mm

Have been following the thread on gun oil for semi auto handguns. This made me do some thinking about carry or duty weapons.

To me there are lots of good oils out there, however I feel the focus it too much on the "best" oil and not nearly enough on proper firearms maintenance.

When I started shooting I shot regularly, once a week or every other week and I cleaned after every session.

As the years have gone by life has gotten busier and I only get to the range once every month or so, but again I clean my carry weapons as soon as I get home.

I am issued a duty weapon, and I do a field strip, wipe any dust out, and make sure it is properly lubricated about once a month. I am issued a G17, but mostly train with my personal G19 as it shoots the same point of impact and handles the same.

I was a glock armorer and assisted my agency with yearly weapons inspections for a while. I have also spent a fair bit of time at my agencies range doing training. What I have observed is, most weapons fail due to lack of maintenance. I have seen weapons soaked with oil, like they just sprayed it in with a can, which while messy did not cause any issues. I have seen bone dry weapons full of dust and lint that did not want to field strip. I have seen weapons that were fired a year prior and never cleaned. But it seems most malfunction, aside from operator error, were due to improper maintenance.

So, how do you do maintenance on your carry weapon?

MarkCO

Carry guns don't get shot much, so they get neglected more. There are probably a startling number of folks carrying pistols that won't make it through 3 rounds.