Help with loading lee 1oz slugs

Wilson154

Hello, I am new here and trying to find some help.
I have just started trying to load slugs and buckshot for a turkish ar-12. I have been casting pistole bullets for years so I decided to try casting the lee drive key 1oz slug. I used the data provided with the mold using Remington hulls, federal 209 primers, Claybuster waa12f114 slug wading and 34g of Herco. This load didn't work and destroyed my shotgun by swelling the choke and barrel. My question is what did I do wrong? I have been reloading rifle and pistole for around 20 years but reloading shotgun seems to be completely different. Any help would be appreciated.

44 AMP

Staff
I had to find pics of the slugs and the gun to see, but, at a guess, I'd say that, assuming your load was right the slugs didn't compress enough to squeeze through the choke, and since something had to give it was the barrel.

Compare the lee slug against the conventional Forster type. The Forster slug has the vanes that look like "reverse rifling" on the slug body. Some folks think they are there to cause spin, but they aren't. They are there to give the slug a way to squeeze down and pass through a choke without damage to the slug or the gun.

The Lee slugs don't have that. While there is a large hollow base the side walls look pretty thick to me. Cast to bore size, with no easy way to squeeze through a choke, the damage you had is likely, and even predictable.

Out of a cylinder bore the slugs should be no problem, but chokes reduce bore diameter, and shotgun barrels aren't the thick steel of rifle and handgun barrels.

No idea the slug diameter when they drop from the mold, but I'd check that against the stated spec of the choke diameter it has to go through.

Could be the slug needs to be sized down a few thousandths for safe clearance.

Shadow9mm

I always understood that the tighest choke you could safely shoot a slug through was an improved cylinder. What choke was in the gun?