Help me with my first .308

RPSmith

I admit that I'm a newb with larger caliber rifle rounds.

I'd like a 'reach-out-and-touch-something' .308.

Before someone tries to steer this post another direction let me state emphatically that I am not interested in 30-06.

I'd like to be able to make 2" groups at 500 yards.

I'd like to keep the total price under $1000 (not including glass, of course).

I am open to all suggestions, but please limit hypothetical solutions.

Thanks for all input, RP

Fat White Boy

My first question would be, with no insult intended, is, can you shoot that well already? That is exceptional shooting for an amateur. If you haven't shot that well before, understand it may take some time to get that good. I would start with a Remington 700 variation and as you practice, you will come in to contact with people who will be able to help you in the areas where you need help. Find a shooting club in your area and talk to them....

DnPRK

2" at 500 yds is the sticking point. The rifle you want has to shoot better than 1/2 MOA. There aren't many off-the-shelf rifles that can do that without lots of TLC from an accuracy gunsmith (not your run-of-the-mill parts swapper) and serious handload development.

Your best bet is to try to find a used benchrest rifle from someone who shoots in hunter benchrest competitions. Look at B109 in the linkShooters corner

benny27