GOT A BAND TODAY! How many duck bands do u have??

Lavid2002

I got my 3rd banded duck today. Sadly it had parasites in the meat and I had to throw it out, but im stoked about my third band. I get so excited when I get these things. Ive never gotten a money band before, how many bands do you guys have....have you ever gotten a $$ band? Ive been hunting for 4 yrs and I have 3 no $$
DSCN0550.jpg

DSCN0552.jpg

FrankenMauser

.....looks like a lot of the deer meat in Hogdogs' neighborhood. I still can't get over how bad some of those animals were. :barf:

hogdogs

Staff In Memoriam
Lucky for me, I haven't ever gotten meat like that...
As for the band, I have never even seen a band with my own eyes... let alone shot a duck wearing one...
Are banded birds, captive bred and released or banded in the wild to track data? How do you know if it is a money band or not? Who does the various banding?
Brent

mwal

bands are used to track were ducks move to.

The parasite is called rice breast
Sarcocystis sp. presents no known health hazard to humans. The primary importance to humans of Sarcocystis in waterfowl is the loss of infected birds for food. The unaesthetic appearance of parasitized muscle may prompt hunters to discard the carcass. Many hunters who pluck birds never observe the parasite as cooking generally makes the parasite less noticeable than seen in raw muscle tissue. From Ducks Unlimited website

I would call the band in and trash the meat

Mwal

That is gross. Severely decreased my desire to hunt waterfowl. I usually get duck at a certain Chinese restaurant...

What about these money bands now?

andrew66

I have shot a few with bands. Mostly widgeons. Havent really kept track. one time i did call the number in, and a few weeks later, they mailed me the info about the bird. It was really interesting. It gave the place it was tagged and released and showed its flight path each year, and the distance traveled.

B. Lahey