First handgun you ever bought

Brian Bilby

What was the first handgun you ever bought and why?

Mine was a Colt Diamondback because it looked cool and the price was right.

Brian

mcshot

My first pistol was purshased in military in 1968. It was a Colt second gen. SAA .357.
It came with the whole gunslinger set up for $125. I was COOL but I didn't like the sights so traded it off for a beat up S&W Mod 19. Also darn near shot foot off doing quick draws with the thing. One of first big trading mistakes I made. Sure wish I had it now!!!

------------------

RikWriter

My first handgun was a Taurus Model 66 357 Magnum nickel plated with a six inch barrel. Got it for $200 the week I turned 21.

Wally

My first was a bullseye model Colt Match Target Woodsman, when I was a freshman in college. Paid $50 for it brand new. No wonder I'm considered a senior member!!

Cat

It was the summer of 1967. I was just back from the South-East Asian War Games. I felt very uncomfortable at my new night job being unarmed. I bought a Beretta .25 auto just to have something in my pocket. I had no illusions about stopping power. I just felt so naked and helpless without something. It took a couple of months before I stopped carrying it all the time at night.

Neil Casper

Mikie

An S&W Model 15 4" 38 Spl. Back in 1972 it was still an US Air Force sidearm which I shot and liked. I traded it in 2 months later for an S&W Model 19 6" 357.

------------------

JoeHatley

Late in 1974, I bought a new Colt New Frontier .22, holster and ammo, for $105.

Sold it a few years later. What a bonehead...

Joe

------------------
Go NRA

Glock_man