Failure to fire

adamBomb

Put 100 rounds through my new Hellcat this morning. Around the 70th shot, I had a failure to fire. I waited a min then ejected the round, which unfortunately fell across the line at the indoor range so I couldn't recover it.

This happened on the first round after releasing the slide. Rest of the mag shot fine. Next 30 rounds shot fine.

Ammo was winchester white box 115g probably 5-7 years old.

Could be ammo. Could have been a light primer strike...idk. But I don't like issues. I am hoping its ammo related and plan to take it back to the range to get another 100 shots in soon. Not sure if I should start carrying at this point...

Edit:

-Prior to taking to range I did clean and lube.
-I dropped the open slide to rack the round, didn't rack it myself. Not sure if that makes a difference.

Last edited:

HiBC

I have no experience with the Hellcat.

A new gun may have to "break in" or burnish the tight spots,

A new gun generally needs to be field stripped and the preservative grease cleaned out, followed by lubrication.

If you dropped a round in the chamber and then dropped the slide,

Or if your hand followed the slide forward,

Any one of these things could have prevented the slide from going fully forward into battery.

If that happens, energy that should have gone into the primer for ignition goes into nudging the slide forward.

Shoot it. Run the first 100 through,clean and lube it, get 100 new,fresh self defense grade ammo (not the cheaper target practice ammo. Get what you will carry) Now run that ammo for a reliability test.

Note: This suggestion has the "corners rounded off" due to ammo prices.

A few years ago the standard was a 500 round break in.

100 rounds of the hollow point ,bullet weight,and load you want to carry without a hiccup is a reasonable standard.
Remedies might include a different load ,magazines,or a trip back to the maker.
If it passes,get at least another 100 rounds for operating stash.

smee78