Does any ammo company make "original" .357 loads?

Nightcrawler

I've heard the "original" .357 load, intended for an N-frame, was something like 158gr @ 1400fps. This is a very potent loading, and would give a lot of penetration and would have a lot of energy, as well as being long ranged.

But today, all the 158grn loads are in the 1250fps range. What happened? Too many J and K framed guns out there? Do any ammo companies still produce these "potent" loads (not just for hunting)?

Just curious.

Walosi

The original .357 loads predate jacketed bullets - most were not even gas checked. The ones still around when I started shooting would lead my barrels smooth inside 20 rds., and were totally awesome to shoot. The 1450 fps, 125 gr. loads which have been the basis for the .357s' "stopping power" fame are now rarer, as well, since SAAMI lowered the production pressure limits recently - and the smaller framed guns have figured inthis as well. Thinkng about one of the old Remington 158 gr. loads in a new super lightweight J frame, at something over 50,000 psi, is downright spooky.

Blue Duck357

Think Walosi nailed it. It's a real shame that having untrained police complain about recoil and people demanding J-frame 357's made out of riboflavin has hurt the versatility of my favorite handgun cartridge so much :(

Ammo wise I think if you were to E-mail WESHOOT2 he might be able to fix you up though...

Tamara

Moderator Emeritus
Georgia changed their handgun hunting regs back in 1994, allowing handgun hunting only with cartridges that would produce 500 ft/lbs @ 100 yds. Since no factory .357 loads at the time would do that, Georgia Arms started loading a 158gr JHP at a claimed 1475 fps and called it the "Deerstopper".

Coincidentally, this loading handily resurrects the original .357 Magnum.

C.R.Sam

Yep, WS2 can fix you up with full tilt n boogie stuff....
If you qualify.:D