Do some 22lr ammunition jam more than others?

Saab1911

The first two brands of 22lr ammunition which I shot through my Ruger Mk III
fed flawlessly. But, today I started shooting Winchester Xpert 22lr. The
winchesters jam at least every other round. Mostly, the spent casing fails
to eject. The rim seems narrower than usual on the Winchester Xpert 22lr
round.

Have you had a similar experience. Does you 22lr pistol have severe problems
reliably ejecting a certain brand of ammo?

Also, has anybody else had similar problems with Winchester Xpert 22lr ammo?

Cheers,

Jae

JWT

.22lr ammo is no different than any other calibers as far as functioning in semi auto handguns. Some guns just 'do not like' certain brands of ammo and are more prone to malfunctions (ftf, fte,etc). My Ruger Mark III has frequent 'jams' with Remington 'goldies' and functions flawlessly with everything else I've tried shooting in it.

boykinhntr

Some guns are just ammo sensitive. My S&W will eat anything, while my buddies Mosquito is VERY picky. It just depends on the gun. Find what works and stick with it.

hogdogs

Staff In Memoriam
Try cleaning the chamber area real well and try again. Some ammo may dirty it more and the next ammo may fit more snug in the gunk...
Brent

B-Maxx

The Win Expert 22 are ok through my 10/22, but my S&W 22A does not like them at all. Neither likes the Remington bulk ammo from Wal-mart. The Federal Bulk Ammo from WMT I have found to be the best for all my 22 firearms without spending all the extra money for match ammo.

DaveBeal

The only bulk ammo that works reliably in my Buckmark is CCI Blazer. Federal, Winchester and Remington all tend to jam.

Crosshair

The Win Expert 22 are ok through my 10/22, but my S&W 22A does not like them at all. Neither likes the Remington bulk ammo from Wal-mart. The Federal Bulk Ammo from WMT I have found to be the best for all my 22 firearms without spending all the extra money for match ammo.