Do AR's hold value?

shafter

Hey guys, I've been thinking about a Stag AR15 model 4. My question is how well do they hold their value? If I play around with it for awhile and can't get used to the AR platform will I be able to turn around and sell it without losing a big chunk of money. A small hit is fine but I don't want to lose a ton of money.

What is your opinion?

pturner67

I'm not an expert but I would think that any quality firearm these days holds its value very well...some may even increase in value

AR15s are probably no different...they have really gained in popularity for plinking and HD

RT

As long as you don't overpay, you can part it out and usually recoup your cost.

Ridge_Runner_5

It really depends. Gun prices the past few years climbed sharply leading up to and immediately following the 2008 election. In the past few years, people have been selling them off and the prices have fallen noticeably as the market became swamped with them.

It's likely that they will go up again as we head into the election this year, and possibly through the holidays. Depending on who gets elected will decide where the prices go next year and beyond.

CTS

I'm with RidgeRunner on this one. I bought a Bushmaster last June for $950 that is being sold new now for $850. Another thing to look at is the sheer numbers of ARs that are on the market. There is certainly a glut in the market for them. That doesn't help keep the prices up either. My LGS is selling PSA 16" carbine with chrome lined 1:7 barrel, quad rail, magpul MBUS and two stage trigger for $699.00.

Darren Roberts

The main problem is how many manufacturers jumped on the band wagon and flooded the market with cheap priced (and cheap quality) ARs. To many people are buying those just to say they have one without regard to quality.
It is better to look cool rather than have a dependable firearm.