Did I over react?

jfrey123

Alright, again it's everybody's favorite forum noob here. Got a question for everybody, as I'm still learning my roll in public self defense.

My car is equipped with an aftermarket alarm system w/ keyring pager. It's set to not be overly sensative: A garbage truck can rev up and slam dumpsters without even triggering the warning chirps. A door closing, suspension jostle, or other light impact however will set it off full blast. I have it to protect the car itself and a stereo system worth approx $1,500.

It went off last night around 10pm. I could hear it's siren outside my apartment and heard the keychain start sounding as well. Acting on instinct, I quickly moved to the door, grabbing my secondary defense pistol off the entertainment center on my way out. I racked it and tucked it into my front pocket (safety on). My car is pretty much right out front of the apartment as I'm in a curbside unit, and it's under an unlit carport. I quickly scanned the area, saw no one, and approached my car. I did a slow walk around it, and found no evidence of tampering (no broken window, no scratches or dents from obvious impact). My roommate had some about halfway down the small walk way to "back me up" with one of his short blade weapons. Finding nothing, I re-armed the system and went back inside, looking out the window off and on for about an hour before going to bed.

My question is did I over-react? It turned out to be a false alarm, but am I justified in arming myself just to check on a car alarm? I greatly value the opinions of this forums members and appreciate all feedback.

mr00jimbo

No, I wouldn't say you were. It could be a crackhead out there ripping apart your dashboard, and if you were to approach him he could try and drive a screwdriver through your chest.
I would have done the same thing if I didn't live in Canada where criminals are "just misunderstood" and guns are "so bad" :rolleyes:

littlmak