CCW at the office - practically speaking

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeff Thomas

I take my classes at the end of the month, and should have my CCW permit 30 to 60 days later, they say.

I'll check again, but I believe our company's personnel handbook is vague on whether an employee can carry at the office. I'm an officer of the company, although not the owner. If I show up in a suit and holster on my belt I'm sure they'll either give me some career counseling or a psych evaluation. ;)

So, extreme discretion is important, and, unfortunately, I'll have to give up a little in the way of best handgun for most practical handgun. For personal time I'm standardizing on the 1911 pistol style (Para P-12 so far, .45 ACP). But I'm also familiar with 9mm Sig's, .357 revolvers, etc.

I've asked this question around a little locally, and I get a lot of 'you need to find what works best for you'. Well, that's all fine and dandy, but I'm new enough to this that I'm not getting anywhere on the issue. And, I don't want to spend a lot of money on holsters to experiment until I find a good solution.

While I wear a suit coat, it comes off when I hit my office door. So I gather my options come down to belly bands and ankle holsters? [I know they are poor alternatives, but what choice do I have?] And, if those holsters are the practical solution, what handguns will work best in that situation?

Thanks.

[This message has been edited by Jeff Thomas (edited March 14, 1999).]

Rob Pincus

I don't know your build, but you might try out a 642 (or the new titanium version ..342???) in an ankle holster. Make sure it doesn't fall down.

I dislike autos in ankle holsters.. too dirty down there by the floor.

Same guns would work in a Belly band, if necessary.

Grayfox

Consider a good paddle holster. When you come in you could take it off and slip the gun into a desk drawer. I know several people who do this.

Rob Pincus