Carbine for Home Defense - Bad idea?

Dave3006

I hear alot about using a carbine for home defense. However, I really wonder if this would be a good idea? It seems to me that the most important characteristic of a home defense weapon would be to QUICKLY stop your attacker. Distances will be so close that even the slightest delay could cost you your life. If they have a knife or a gun, even a couple seconds is enough for them to kill you before they die. A rifle would be better than a handgun. However, it seems a shotgun would be the fastest for putting a man down.
Any comments? I would appreciate any input. This is just my opinion and I am not an expert.

mcshot

I think carbines are a great idea and I just picked up a Marlin Camp 9 carbine which accepts mags from my S&W 5904. I even have some real high capacity mags (20+) that should really perforate perps. Only problem to date is that it spits brass over a half acre which would not be a prob indoors eh. :)

------------------
"Keep shootin till they quit floppin"
The Wife 2/2000

P

PreserveFreedom

I see no problem at all, although a handgun is what I keep loaded by the bed. If my Mini 14 was handy, I wouldn't hesitate to use it for home defense.

dbrowne1

A .223 carbine is an excellent home defense gun, my personal choice if quarters are not too close (handgun is better for closer spaces). If you're going to get a carbine, I wouldn't bother with pistol calibers, as their performance doesn't really exceed a handgun and they will penetrate MORE wall material than a .223. .223 wound ballistics are devastating, it will be much more effective if your assailant is wearing body armor, and you'll have a gun with a much greater effective range should that be necessary.

Southla1

Member In Memoriam