Bumping people w/your sidearm

45King

I've been carrying concealed for many years now, and I had something happen twice on Christmas Eve that's never happened before.
I was helping my wife around the house, getting ready for Christmas supper with my sister and her family. In the course of the day, I twice smacked my wife at the point of her elbow with the butt of my Rosen ARG holstered GM. I was bending over at the time, so the butt was protruding more than usual, and she happened to pass by a bit too closely. Have any of you ever had similar things happen?

When I'm in crowds, I keep my strong hand down to "cover" the gun from an accidental brush/touch, but being at home, I was in "low yellow" as opposed to public "high yellow."

Mikey

Almost sounds like you may have lapsed into "white" a couple of times. While this may be somewhat understandable when at home with your spouse, sounds like time to re-assess your carry habits.

When lapses occur at home it can be a sign of becomming a little too comfortable with carry. Ever forget you have it on? Time to re-learn those habits that kept these things from happening - squat, don't bend...be aware of the position and movement of those around you...protect the gun...stay in yellow!

Mikey

Onslaught

I carry SOB (no jokes :) ) and several times, also at the family Christmas gathering, I was hugged or patted entirely too close to the firearm! I believe that one nephew actually did make contact with it, but noone seemed to notice.

I don't think it's a huge deal, because it's all family, and you never get that close to strangers. Sure, it would be better if it never happened at all, but if anyone's going to "make" you, better to be your favorite aunt :)

45King