Best Platform for 40sw to 357sig Conversion

jackstrawIII

Good morning. I'm new to TFL, this is my first post. After stalking the forums for years, I'm in. Thanks to all you guys and gals for the heaps of knowledge I've gleaned thus far.

My question is this. I'm looking for a handgun that I can shoot in 40sw and 357sig. I'm a fairly experienced shooter, but mostly stick to 9mm and 45ACP. I'm intrigued by the 357Sig however, and want to try it out and figured I might as well be able to shoot 40 as well, while I'm at it. This gun would be carried occasionally while hiking and working in my woods, but is mostly just a curiosity piece.

My preferences:
- I'm not a huge Glock fan. I respect them, but don't really like to shoot them. I used to have some Glocks in 40 but sold them all.
- Sigs are hit or miss. Love my 220, but couldn't hit the broad side a barn with my friends 229 in 40. Maybe it was just that gun? I'm willing to reconsider.
- I have some M&Ps, but want to try something different.
- I love my CZs... a lot.

Here are some of the things I'm considering:
- Don't have any H&Ks right now, but I think they look great. I read a lot of mixed reviews about the triggers, but I'm not really a trigger snob so maybe I won't care. Specifically interested in the USP, P2000, or VP series.
- I'm willing to give the Sig 229 another shot.
- I've also wanted to try the Jericho 941 (CZ clone) but conversion barrels seem hard to find.
- Is there something else out there that you guys would recommend.

Thanks everyone!

Flfiremedic

I'm a huge Glock and 1911 fan, but my SIG P229 Enhanced Elite is my EDC now. I'd get a Legion if I could sneak it past the wife.
A Glock 32 or P229 EE will serve you well.

pblanc

I feel the same way about Glocks as you do.

I would certainly give the SIG P229 another try. Mine seems to shoot .40 caliber quite accurately within my ability, and most people who have .40 S&W or 357 SIG 229s seem quite pleased with them.